Wilfred Mashaya of the Martial Arts (Kobudo) is the 2018 Sportsmen and Sportsperson of the year this was announced at a glittering ceremony was held in Harare on 1 March 2019. The Awards which were deferred owing to cost escalations lived to their billing as they were able to attract more sponsors like Teecherz Furniture among others.

The Annual National Sport Awards (ANSA) which ran under the theme “striving for excellence” were graced by the Hon. Minister of Youth, Sport, Arts and Recreation Dr Kirsty Coventry who thanked the parents and athletes for their sterling efforts in representing the country.

“I would like to thank the parents and guardians of the athletes for continually supporting the athletes and without your support we would not have been gathered here. The reason why we gathered here tonight is because of the outstanding performance of the athletes and I would like to urge them to continue working hard”, said Dr Coventry.

While addressing the gathering which was beamed live on ZTV, the Minister of Youth, Sport, Arts and Recreation Dr Coventry said that there was need for the sport sector to work hard in order to restore corporate trust.

“As the Sports sector we need to restore the trust that the Corporate world used to have in us so that more and more sponsorship can be channeled towards sport programmes and this means that we have to have good corporate governance and organizational management systems in place“, added Dr Coventry.

Also addressing the ceremony, the Sports and Recreation Commission (SRC) Director General Mr Prince Mupazviriho said that they were no longer just hosting the Awards as a tradition but they were seeking to derive maximum commercial value from them.

“Honorable Minister, Distinguished Guests, Ladies and Gentlemen, may I point out that these Awards are taking place at a crucial time wherein the SRC is currently rebranding itself so that it repositions itself and ensures that its Brand visibility and appeal is enhanced. This is in line with the implementation thrust of the Transitional Stabilization Programme (TSP) as a process towards attaining vision 2030.

“It is also in this regard that our approach is no longer just about hosting the Awards, but to derive maximum commercial value of the sport and recreation industry. Equally the same and going forward, it is our ultimate desire to ensure that our Nominees are rewarded in a way which is commensurate with their efforts and this is only possible if our Brand appeal is at the right level. I am therefore kindly appealing to all the stakeholders to walk with us this journey which I am confident will soon yield the desired outcomes”, Mr Mupazviriho said.

Wilfred Mashaya the Sportsman and Sportsperson of the year was all smiles as his hard work and self-belief had paid off the dividends.

“It is through hardwork, consistency and believing in myself that this God given talent has gotten me to conquer the world. It is also through enduring the pain that comes with training and managing frustrations, obstacles and any impediments that come along the way. Winning such an accordlade as the Sportsperson of the year is no mean achievement as it calls for one to have a cool head at the same time maintaining a high level of discipline”, Mashaya said.

Mashaya takes over from fellow Karaketa Samson Muripo who was the reigning sportsperson of the year for the year 2017.

The winners for the Awards were as follows:

Junior Sports Woman of the Year


  1. Lorryn Ashley Bass (ROWING) – Gold
  2. Christi Rose Pretorious (JUDO – Silver
  3. Brianagh Clark (EQUESTRIAN) – Bronze


Junior Sports Man of the Year


  1. Ryan Gwidzima (SQUASH) – Gold
  2. Liam O’Hara (SWIMMING) – Silver
  3. Kenneth George Raynor (ROWING) – Bronze


Junior Sports Woman of the Year with a Disability


  1. Grace Nyamadzawo (ATHLETICS Visually Impaired-T12) – Gold
  2. Moment Bhebhe (ATHLETICS Visually Impaired-T13) – Silver
  3. Libetra Shoko (ATHLETICS Visually Impaired-T13) – Bronze


Junior Sports Man of the Year with a Disability


  1. Sellasi Chiwisa (GOLF – SPECIAL OLYMPICS) – Gold
  2. Ethan MupfumIra (GOLF – SPECIAL OLYMPICS) – Silver
  3. Tafadzwa Munyoro (ATHLETICS Visually Impaired-T13) – Bronze


 Sports Woman of the Year


  1. Grace Chirumhanzu (KARATE) – Gold
  2. Paidaishe Zengeni (CHESS) – Silver
  3. Memory Chiwandire (KARATE) – Bronze


Sports Man of the Year


  1. Wilfred Mashaya (MARTIAL ARTS – KUBUDO) – Gold
  2. Samson Muripo(KARATE) – Silver
  3. Ben Follet Smith(GOLF) – Bronze


Sports Woman of the Year with a Disability


  1. Margaret Bangajena (WHEELCHAIR RACING) – Gold
  2. Moleen Majoni (WHEELCHAIR RACING) – Silver
  3. Lisa Burbidge (GOLF – SPECIAL OLYMPICS) – Bronze




Sportsman of the Year with a Disability


  1. Isaac Gutu (GOLF SPECIAL OLYMPICS) – Gold
  2. Elford Moyo (WHEELCHAIR RACING) – Silver
  3. Munyaradzi Musariri (GOLF SPECIAL OLYMPICS) – Bronze


Team of the Year


  1. Rowing Team (Patrick & Rory Plunket) – Gold
  2. Sevens Rugby (The Cheetahs) – Silver
  3. Senior Women’s Netball Team (The Gems) – Bronze


Coach of the Year


  1. Gilbert Nyamutsamba (Sevens Rugby) – Gold
  2. Lloyd Makunde (Senior Women’s Netball Team) – Silver
  3. Sunday Chidzambwa (Senior Men’s Football Team) – Bronze


Technical Official of the Year


  1. Rick Fulton (TRIATHLON) – Gold
  2. Langton Rusere (CRICKET) – Silver
  3. Annie Joice Muchenu (BASKETBALL) – Bronze


Junior Sports Person of the Year


Ryan Gwidzima (SQUASH) – Gold


Sports Person of the Year


Wilfred Mashaya (MARTIAL ARTS – KUBUDO) – Gold


Sport Development Award


  1. Rowing Association of Zimbabwe – Gold
  2. Triathlon Zimbabwe – Silver
  3. Hockey Association of Zimbabwe – Bronze


Sport Administration Award


  1. Triathlon Zimbabwe – Gold
  2. Rowing Association of Zimbabwe – Silver
  3. Hockey Association of Zimbabwe – Bronze


Women and Sport Development Award

  1. Angela Nyaundi (Women and Sport Development Trust) – Gold
  2. Langton Giwa (Football) – Silver
  3. Debra Green Magura (Football) – Bronze


Special Acknowledgment

  • City of Harare
  • National Association of Primary Schools Heads (NAPH)
  • National Association of Secondary Schools Heads(NASH)
  • Tongaat Hullets Zimbabwe
  • Zimplats